A thought on time

The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.

To start this rather short blog (sorry, I’m currently writing my Master’s thesis so I do not have much time to write anything else) I’d like to just present and discuss some ideas put forth by the great Bertrand Russell concerning time. I’ve been wasting a lot of time recently, but as Russell says: as long as it is enjoyed, it is not wasted.

So let’s get right to it! In 1903 Russell published the book A Free Man’s Worship. In it we find the following passage:

The slave is doomed to worship time and fate and death, because they are greater than anything he finds in himself, and because all his thoughts are of things which they devour.

What fascinates me about this quote is the quality of the idea and the language used to convey it. A perfect mixture of content and style.

Here Russell really touches upon the essence of the slave-mentality that leads humans to worship. Why do intelligent human beings freely choose to submit themselves to the doctrines of a particular religion? Why do they choose to be slaves? That is the question which is answered (partly).

The way I interpret this passage is that Russell says: the essence of servility lies in the humility of man. Which in this case is the result of the intelligence of man who has created the concept of time which has allowed him to put into perspective his own existence.

If you have any interesting ideas on time do let me know in the comment section below!

_____

I don’t usually do this but I want to draw your attention to an upcoming post. I will be writing a piece on the Women’s March that has taken place because I am particularly annoyed by the press on this issue. More particularly I will be writing about the incredible hypocrisy of the march itself. It will take me a while to write the piece because of some of the theological research, and I have to write my thesis (as you know), but that will be my next major blog post 🙂

Thank you for reading and have a great day!

 

Leave a Reply

